Min Yung Lee won William E. Spicer Best Student Paper Award

Min Yung Lee, doctoral student of the Dept. of Electrical Engineering of KAIST, received William E. Spicer Best Student Paper Award from the 2005 U.S. WORKSHOP on the PHYSICS and CHEMISTRY of II-VI MATERIALS, sponsored by U.S. Army RDECOM CERDEC Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, U.S. Army SMDC, U.S. Navy Electro-Optics Center, Penn State University, Office of Naval Research, Air Force Research Laboratory, the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society, and endorsed by the American Physical Society.
He is in the Infrared Image Sensor Laboratory, and won the honor by his research on gamma radiation effects on bromine- and hydrazine-treated HgCdTe photodiodes. His paper was selected to be the best because of its originality and practicality. His paper was focused on the surface treatment method and its effects, which has been one of the permanent issues in HgCdTe infared (IR) photodiodes. His suggested surface treatment method using hydrazine was reported very useful in the fabrication ofhigh-performance HgCdTe IR photodiodes, and moreover, the fabricated photodiode using hydrazine treatment showed an excellent radiation-tolerant property.
U.S. WORKSHOP on the PHYSICS and CHEMISTRY of II-VI MATERIALS is a workshop held annually in USA. In this year, the workshop was held from Sept. 20 to Sept. 22, for three days, in Boston, United States. The purpose of this workshop is to bring together the industry, governmental, and university communities that work with II-VI materials. These II-VI materials are critical in a wide range of detector technologies operating in the infrared, ultraviolet, x-ray, and gamma-ray regions of the spectrum. They include HgCdTe, ZnSe, ZnO, and CdTe, as well as other II-VI semiconductors and alloys.
Approximately 150 related erudite from 13 countries including United States, England, France, Germany, Israel, and Japan participated in this workshop. Total number of papers presented in this workshop was 75 and 17 papers among them were submitted by students, while only one of them were selected.