News & Event


Home > News & Event > Press

News & Event


Jung, Jin-Gon, won the Grand Prize in Intel Student Thesis Contest.

Intel, Korea, announced the awardees of the Intel Student Thesis Contest 2006 at the Intel Developer Forum (IDF) conference. The purpose of this event is to promote the outstanding research performance in technology development via the cooperation between the domestic research institutes and academic field.

For this second contest following the previous year’s one, 55 thesis on core future technology such as digital home environment and next generation wireless communication were submitted. Overall qualities of the papers were said to be increased, which made the event more competitive.

Among the papers submitted by the graduate students of 47 ITRC laboratories from 27 schools, eight papers were selected as one gold, 2 silvers, and 5 bronzes. Each awardee is given the prize of 10 to 30 millions won or gift. The decision board consisted of 7 experts from academic and industrial world; which included Ph.D Song, Jung-Hee (IT strategy advisor, Ministry of Information and Communication) and Professor Kang, Chul-Hee from EECS, Korea University (also the president of ITRC Commitee). The selection of the papers was based on their research performance, uniqueness, and creativities.

The grand prize was given to Jung, Jin-Gon, Ph.D student from CHiPs (Center for High-Performance Integrated Systems) at KAIST. He suggested a key approach for the next mobile technology communication; the title of the paper was, “Regularized channel diagonalization for multi-user MIMO downlink using a modified MMSE criterion”.
The decision board praised the suggested new linear processing algorithm which has better performance to the technology based on ZF and MMSE in MIMO (Multi Input Multi Output) environment. MIMO technology is designed to reduce errors and increase the transmission capacity with multiple antennae.

“This gold prize winning paper suggested the most advanced technology to increase the spectral efficiency in the MIMO field, which is one of the core tasks in the development of WIMAX. It proves its significance. Other than that, all the prize winning papers showed the creative research performances for the industrial development.”, Ph.D Song, Jung-Hee mentioned.

The list of the prize winners except the gold is as below:

Park, Sang-Hoon, KJIST (RBRC, Realistic Broadcasting Research Center)
Jin, Seong-Geun, SNU (Next Generation Wireless Communication Research Center)

Kang, Moon-Su, ICU (BrOMA, Center for Broadband OFDM Mobile Access)
Park, Ki-Hong, Korea University ( NIR, Next Generation Internet Research Center)
Ju, Hwa-Min, Inha University (UWB Wireless Communication Research Center)
Lee, Ho-Won, KAIST (CHiPs, Center for High-Performance Integrated Systems)
Lim, Seong-Hoon, KAIST (BrOMA, Center for Broadband OFDM Mobile Access)